+353 (0)1 707 9818


Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council nominated at SEAI Awards

27th October, 2017

Well done to Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council which has been shortlisted at this year's SEAI Awards in the Energy Manager / Team of the Year category.

DLR's Energy Team has received this nomination in recognition of their innovative and forward-thinking approach to future-proofing the local authority region, with actions such as:

  • Full compliance with ISO 50001 Energy Management certification, including substantial upgrades to public lighting, buildings with high energy use, and a fleet audit
  • Promotion of IS399:2014 Energy Efficient Design at the earliest stage of design to ensure proper consideration and costing of energy efficiency design.  Rochestown House is a great example of this as it has been retrofitted to EnerPHit standard and provides an excellent standard of housing accommodation.
  • Commitment to preparing a Sustainable Energy Action Plan, as part of DLR's County Development Plan 2016-2022
  • Signing up to the Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy, which commits signatories to reduce CO2 emissions by at least 40% by 2030, and to adopt an integrated approach to tackling mitigation and adaptation to climate change
  • Promotion of renewables and planned energy networks into the future to allow for viable businesses, industry, schools, homes and travel within the DLR region

Commenting on the award nomination, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council's Energy Officer, Sarah Cassidy, said:

It is our collective responsibilty to build a more sustainable and energy efficiency County, and we continue to positively influence this by meeting energy and climate change targets.  We are looking to energy future-proof the county through reduced dependence on fossil fuels. Examples of this include promoting the use of IS399 Energy Efficient Design which is a holistic design overview of a process or building project.

The awards will take place on Thursday, 9th November and to read more about Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown's nomination, please click here